Handbook of Nutritional Bankruptcy

It’s lonely being me
Sure, I have humans

They’re a part of me,
inside me (almost like parasites)

The captain says
it’s a symbiotic relationship

but he’s never been able to explain
what benefit I gain from them

I’m more of a servant
a vessel for their wishes

and full as I am
I’m empty – and lonely

I’ve heard that there others of my kind,
but I haven’t met one yet

maybe they’re like me,
but not like me

intelligent,
but not aware

/ / /

This poem began with the title, which came about from reading today’s prompt at NaPoWriMo about Scottish science fiction writer Iain M. Banks and spaceships.

3 thoughts on “Handbook of Nutritional Bankruptcy

Leave a Reply

