Walking Meditation

Walking meditation
The rhythm of my feet and my arms
I realize I am whistling

Noticing my thoughts
But not trying to think them
Wondering who I am
Trying not to think that

Then the other voices come in
How will you save your soul?
Can you find nirvana?

Remind myself I’m meditating
The rhythm of my feet and my arms
Was I whistling again?

Coming back to my thoughts
But not trying to think them
Being in who I am
This body that is not my body

Then the other voices come in
How will you save your soul?
Can you find nirvana?

Then it happens
I’m not thinking
I’m just moving
And not whistling

Then the other voices come in
How will you save your soul?
Can you find nirvana?

Remind myself I’m meditating
The rhythm of my feet and my arms
I was definitely whistling

/ / /

This poem is in response to Impromptu 5 by Sarah Blake at The Found Poetry Review: Pick a song that you find dynamic. Track its moves. Try to replicate that movement with a poem.

The song I chose was “The Walker” by Fitz and The Tantrums.

While I’m keeping up with my ELJ Write Now: 30/30 Project poem, I’m also trying to write a poem a day this month. I worked on some poems yesterday, but since it was my wedding anniversary, I did not get very much written or posted yesterday. Trying to get caught up today.

2 thoughts on “Walking Meditation

Leave a Reply

