haiku remix

this new year
     from my to ah
a new I

how soon
     of sun-melted snow
the year is bare

melted year
as guide     sun     snow     river
and baby

/ / /

These poems were written using the Haiku Discombobulater, which I learned of during PoMoSco. I used three haiku by Issa from the spring section, pages 6 to 8.

Beilenson, Peter, trans. The Four Seasons: Japanese Haiku. Mount Vernon, NY: Peter Pauper, 1958. Print.

new year gift-giving
   ah, baby at her bare breast
reaching tiny hands

felicitations
   still I guess this year too
will only prove so-so

sun-melted snow
   with my stick I guide this great
dangerous river

One thought on “haiku remix

Leave a Reply

