What’s a self-portrait

What’s a self-portrait
when you are trying
to get to the Self?

Do the things that make me
Me really matter?

You might be interested
in my self-portrait.
And maybe you’re interested in me.
Thanks, i guess, if you are.

But i suspect your interest
is in your self.
You’re looking for the things
in me that are in you too.

This is my self-portrait,
someone who is trying to find
the Self in us all.

/ / /

This poem was written to the self-portrait prompt at Poetic Asides.

One thought on “What’s a self-portrait

Leave a Reply

