NaPoWriMo – Day Two

sitting on the dark couch,
waiting for the moon rise,

hoping for a bright thought
sparking new thoughts to rise,

like the half moon still dark
behind fog and gray clouds,

finding these thoughts do rise
because I put words down

with pen and ink on grids
counting for more than math

any bright thought will do
symbol, or yes, symbol,

language, oh yes, such words
as I cannot find now

/ / /

This poem was written to the bright/dark prompt at Poetic Asides.

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Day Two

  1. Is that why we write? Because it allows to know, even for a few minutes that we are in control? I like the combination of dark and light and the dance between the two.

    Elizabeth

  2. I like the path along which you lead us. The extended simile of the moonrise works beautifully. My favourite, though, is the speaker’s emotion in the final two lines.

    margo

  3. Richard, I grabbed your final line to use as a title for the Cento poem I did for today. Hope that’s okay and thanks for helping me out with my idea,

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

