Charming

Boys don’t wear their birthstones,
especially when they’re pearls.
Well, that’s what my mom said.

Walking the halls of high school
usually filled me with foreboding.
You probably understand why.

I looked to the northern skies,
and asked the twins for guidance,
but they were silent
about my past and my future.

There was often that Frustration,
that Worry about Normalcy.
I wanted to fit in so much.
I even doubted the Love
of my Family, which I now Regret.

Walking on the beach calmed me.
I loved the sapphire waters
and the indigo sky,
though I wondered why
I couldn’t find any cerulean shells.

Why am I the way I am?
I guess it’s biology,
or it could be (horrors!) Destiny.
No, I write poems because I want to…
not because I’m destined to.

I bought myself a charm bracelet
with an alexandrite gem,
but wore it in secret.

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Reverie Twenty-One: Charm Bracelet at naming constellations.

4 thoughts on “Charming

    • Susan, thank you so much. I was thinking along those same lines, which I would not have done if I had not read your poem. So, thank you for the inspiration.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

