Wordle 55

Coat from the hook
phone on vibrate
slipped it into my pocket

I just needed a chance
to clear my head
to not worry about contrast

To look at the sky
watch the stars wink
and not worry what they mean

To sip some coffee
no worries about the grind
still in the filter

Or the soy ink print
on the cup
which I will recycle

Emerging from the shop
this dot that’s me
on this rectangle

On the map
on my smart phone
aligned with satellites

Looking down
on this cobalt
and blue planet

This emerging sense
that if I miss dotting an i
that if I print illegibly

That I will grind
good and evil together
not contrasting them

I chance a look up
and the sky is clear
of cobalt clouds

Then with a wink of my eye
and my thumbs hooked
into my belt straps

I begin to vibrate
to align with the stars
and mean something

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Wordle 55 at The Sunday Whirl.

37 thoughts on “Wordle 55

  1. This means something, Richard. You’ve captured angst, reflection, and discovery. The modern era, merging with the meaning of life. This is one of your best. I LOVE it!

  2. Fascinating, fun, intriguing… I know I try to stay away from adjectives, but this poem is those things. The speaker’s personality slips through quietly until the end when he shakes off his philosophising.

    I like the form with three short lines encompassing a thought, or action, per stanza.

    margo

  3. Three words–I LOVE THIS! These lines–
    Emerging from the shop
    this dot that’s me
    on this rectangle

    On the map
    on my smart phone
    aligned with satellites

    so impersonal, and then shifting to the highly personal:
    I begin to vibrate
    to align with the stars
    and mean something

    gorgeous!

  4. I love this. What a wonderful 2012 tech poem you have written. I love the narrator beginning to vibrate, morphing into the smart phone described earlier in the poem. Clever!!

  5. In our Saturday paper there was an article about how to find the stars by aligning them to the dippers…and not worrying about seeing the constellation pictures, because (especially with light pollution) it could be hard to imagine. And yet we try and fit the ‘dot’ of ourselves into the universe. I like how you did this with your verse.

    My wordle for this week is here:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/05/trade-winds-sunday-whirl-55.html

  6. I want to believe that every writer desperately wants to vibrate with meaning. Love the tumbling twirling movement of emotions you have achieved Richard. This one stands out. I am clapping.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/still-possibilities/
    PS Yes it was a fishing metaphor. When I get desperate for that afore mentioned vibration, I most often find myself writing about writing or fishing. Spent many hours engaged in both of those activities. They have a great deal in common.

    • Elizabeth, thank you so much for your thoughtful reply. That first line – “I want to believe…” – is so true.
      It was a good metaphor. I haven’t been fishing in years, but I see the connection between it and writing.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

