Open Season

I think it’s time we declared Open Season.
Aren’t you tired of the closures?

We’re closing schools, denying education.
People are still being laid off.

Why? Because we got greedy, and
we elected the representatives we deserve.

It’s time to open some windows,
let in some more light, and see.

I’m tired of the talk, the rhetoric
and the platitudes, the hypocrisy.

Or, if we must talk, instead of act,
then let it be frank and candid.

Let’s admit we don’t always know
what we’re doing. Honest talk.

Rather than the I know exactly
what I’m doing talk, and when

it all goes downhill, I was only doing
what I was told talk. Blame talk.

I’m tired of the closed talk, the exclusive
talk, the you don’t belong here talk.

Closed talk from closed minds,
that doesn’t say anything.

Oh, yes, I’m even more sure now
that we need to declare Open Season.

/ / /

This poem was written in response to the season prompt at Poetic Asides.

4 thoughts on “Open Season

  1. Indeed. Circles. Always circles…not my job, not my problem… and yet there is only so much one person can do. There, here is my candle lit to you. Open doors, windows, faces… let in the light!

Leave a Reply

