Communication

I could whisper from far, far away
but you might think I’m trying to trick you

What trick is this, you’d ask,
but couched as a whisper I can’t hear

I could shine a light on my point
or I could just point at the string

of conversations we’ve had and trust you
to find the light’s shine all on your own

Or I could string you along
so that you’d wish for a truth

that you could smell or taste,
or pet or paw as if it were a shape

to be held, when you know the smell
of subterfuge and the taste of bitterness,

angry that I’ve treated you as a pet,
smacked your paw with a rolled newspaper

And then I light a cigarette from my pack,
blowing smoke signals at you,

trying to pack as much information
in every motion that I make,

the shape of every syllable and sound,
the wish I breathe as I shape this poem

/ / /

This poem was written in response to two prompts: Wordle 50 at The Sunday Whirl and the write a communication poem prompt at Poetic Asides.

While I already wrote a poem to Wordle 50 (The Vacation), I decided to take another shot at it, using each of the twelve words twice, once as a noun and once as a verb. Thanks again, to Brenda, for using my suggested words. It was a great way to begin writing poems in April.

9 thoughts on “Communication

  1. Ah isn’t that just what we do…string our poetry like conversations and trust that we connect here in this ether world. Concrete words, connecting like the strings of a spiders ‘web.’
    Another delightful read. Thank you!

  2. A bit delayed in coming by- but glad I did. These words hesitate at just the perfect spot!

    “I could shine a light on my point
    or I could just point at the string

    of conversations we’ve had and trust you
    to find the light’s shine all on your own- ”

    It is as though you are allowing time to remember.

    Also, I am ever so thankful for the clarity your comment on my wordle gave me.

Leave a Reply

