Wordle 40 (untitled)

Boys run in my family.
I have a brother, two sons,
and too many male cousins.

But I do have sisters,
the women who teach with me.

Bridget, who can scatter
clumps of gossipy girls
with a scalding look that leaves them
ashen and ashamed,
their whispering dead,
their half-truths now shards
on the faded blacktop.
She should be a government agent,
crushing rebellions.
Perhaps she already is.

Her students are lucky.

Maria urges me on
with her hallway comments
and her questions
about my latest story,
so I know she’s been lurking on my blog.
She herself has a knack for visual art;
her animal drawings are charming,
inviting everyone in to her classroom,
making visitors feel welcome.
Surely that is an instinct;
I don’t think it can be taught.

Her students are lucky.

I’m lucky too.

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Wordle 40 at The Sunday Whirl.

14 thoughts on “Wordle 40 (untitled)

  1. Glad to see you ‘wordling’ again! Nice that you have found the ‘sisters’ you don’t have in teachers that you work with. They are undoubtedly happy to have a ‘brother’ too!

  2. Yay! Good to see your name pop up! 🙂

    I feel very similar to you — except that it’s brothers that I have found outside my family tree. While I do have a lot of uncles and boy cousins, I have no brothers.

    Well-captured spirit of “extended family”!

    ~ Paula

  3. Oh Richard, this is an amazing tribute to your colleagues. They can make or break us. When you have the supporters around you really are lucky. I’m so glad you’re writing again at the Whirl. I hope to see you this week. 🙂

    • Brenda, thank you. You’re certainly right about the “make or break” part. I try to be grateful for what I have. I am glad to be back at the Whirl again. I’ll see you this week for sure.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

