he shouldered causes

he shouldered causes
the ones that were broken
or which someone had dropped

he would bolt through the door
burst onto the scene
never asking to be forgiven

he would pull nonprofits from their shallows
jump through red tape hoops
as if he were dancing

his feet constantly moving forward
then gathered together to leap
over whatever hurdles there were

toppling indifference only
he was a burst of joy
striking like a bolt of love

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Wordle 26 at The Sunday Whirl.

I’m raising funds for The Office of Letters and Light, the nonprofit organization that sponsors National Novel Writing Month in November. Please check out my Night of Writing Dangerously post, or check out the sidebar note between the two NaNoWriMo web badges. (I’ll be posting an update here tomorrow.)

23 thoughts on “he shouldered causes

  1. Well done, Richard! It’s a very worthy cause. I think it’s important to involve young people in the craft of writing, and in NaNo, and I applaud you for your vision and inspiration.

    • Marianne, thank you. My poem was obviously influenced by my fundraising efforts; it’s been very much on my mind lately. Now I have to start getting my novel’s plot sorted out. It’s also fun to inspire young people.

      Richard

  2. Hey…you beat me to the wordle after all. 🙂 Definitely inspiring, especially in light of your fundraising efforts for NaNoWriMo. It was a group of words that came together for you in such an entirely different way than for me. I’m always in awe of the diversity. It’s like we’re all doing an experiment in word association. 🙂 Anyway…I’m here reading yours, which means I’ve completed mine, too…even if it did take ’til Monday.

    Oh…and I love the line about red tape hoops…working at a bureaucracy myself, I would delight in seeing my colleagues and the consumers dancing through the red tape! 😉

    ~Paula

    • Paula, thanks. Yeah, I took a break after working on report cards, looked at those wordle words, and this is what I came up with. It came rather quickly, actually, which is unusual for me. I, too, love the diversity of poems that come out of those wordles. In fact, I need to get out there and read now that I’ve put another batch of report cards to bed.

      Glad you liked those red tape hoops. That was more inspired by my work than by my fundraising for NaNoWriMo.

      Richard

  3. Fundraiserman strikes again! Terrific poem, Richard, and I wish you great success with your endeavors on behalf of the OLL and your plans to take a friend to the Night of Writing Dangerously. I’ll be with y’all in spirit as I Nano from home after (hopefully by then) having put in a day at my new job.

  4. I love the optimism in this, Richard. That’s what it takes to shoulder those broken causes…
    “striking like a bolt of love” is beautiful. Thanks for all you do with kids.

  5. Excellent write, Richard. You sing the song of the unsung hero. This is an excellent contribution. I can’t wait to see what rolls forth from your fingers during November.

Leave a Reply

