Track Meet

The boy hurtles himself into the air,
his limbs outstretched over the hurdles,
which he clears without injury or slowing down,
reaching for that finish line, its siren call
never fading, only growing stronger.

He never turned his gaze towards the others.
It was not close, no toss-up who won.
It was as if he flew the entire distance.
This was a first victory for him,
and as he flashed that fresh, winning smile,
he was glad he flossed after breakfast,
no flecks of cereal between his teeth.

/ / /

I finally finished this poem in response to Wordle 11 at The Sunday Whirl.

I’m only three weeks late. It’s not a great poem. Frankly, “It was as if he flew the entire distance” is probably the most cliche line I’ve ever posted, but my self-imposed challenge of writing a poem to all of Brenda’s wordles is intact.

10 thoughts on “Track Meet

    • Amy, thank you. It almost turned into a snarky comment about TV commercials, flossing, pimple creams, etc., but I took the high road. Glad you saw optimism in this one. I envisioned the boy as a good sport. It could just as easily have been a girl. I am hard on myself; that’s my perfectionism speaking. Poetry is my therapy for my perfectionism. I have a long way to go still.

      Richard

  1. This is an extraordinary piece, one that I’ll use in the classroom, with your permission. The message to kids is great, and it feels realistic…not snarky at all. 🙂 I’m so glad you are a wordler with us, Richard. Your poems are among my favorites to read.

    • Brenda, thank you. Please feel free to share in your classroom; I’m honored. I’m glad I didn’t go the snarky route; I like it when my better side shows. I love writing poems to your wordles; thank you so much for running The Sunday Whirl.

      We’ll be at Disneyland tomorrow when you post the next wordle, but I’ll get to it as soon as I can.

      Richard

    • Mike, thanks. Yes, the beginning of the school year has slowed me down. I am having fun with my new bunch of students – and I am slowly making my way back into the poetry world.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

