untitled (Wordle 7)

she tried to ignore the inky murmurs
of the subdued women
gossiping about her purple dress

she heard gaudy and tacky
as their talk undulated
from unkind to cruel to mean

she watched as one of them happily
burrowed into her red leather purse
and pulled out her cell phone

she called someone and began
to spin her web of callous words
via cellular towers and satellites

though it saddened her
she sat unafraid
they were just words, after all

and she knew in her heart
that she glowed in her purple dress
because it made her feel light

she did pity the other women however
because they were so common
and their hearts were the abyss

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Wordle 7 at a wordling whirl of Sundays.

26 thoughts on “untitled (Wordle 7)

  1. You have an uncanny way of getting into a woman’s mind. I like your take on the wordle words very much.

    BTW Thank you so much for the wordpress link: blogspot makes me groan with all the hoops one must go through to comment.

    • Viv, thank you. Well, I’m married to one… and we talk a lot. And I observe. I like Brenda’s wordles.

      You’re welcome. I like the way I can respond to comments individually here at WordPress; can’t do that at Blogspot (at least, I don’t think you can, though I just fiddled with some of the settings).

      Richard

  2. The history of the color purple for clothing is a very interesting story, layered with a great deal of symbolism. Your poem reminded me of many things, but especially of a time in my own youth when the color was seldom if ever worn by women. And how that has changed to the present day when it has become common usage. I like your poem because I can see it and know it as true and real. There is a certain subtle sensitivity that you have captured with your words and I love that you did it all with the wordle words. And again, am astounded by the many different paths we find to travel with each set of them. Thank you Richard, this one is a keeper,

    Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth, thank you for the kind and thoughtful words – and your detailed reply. Glad it worked; I worry a bit when I step outside my own gender in the speaker of my poems. Yes, I love the diversity of responses that come out of the wordles; it’s fascinating to see what people write. And I love the sense of discovery that happens. I just sit down with my journal, write those twelve words on a page, and start writing. It’s a freeing experience – and one I enjoy; I think it’s good for me. Thanks again, especially for this being a “keeper”.

      Richard

  3. Tilly, thank you. I like the self-imposed challenge of using the wordle words as they are, but, obviously, won’t do so if it’s going to weaken the poem. I absolutely agree: “The important thing is to make the poem work”.

    Richard

    • Richard…that’s the same self-imposed rule/challenge I try to follow, as well. But when it boils right down to it, I’ll do what works. “Gaudy” was the word this week that I wanted to leave out all together! …but managed to sneak it in. ~Paula

  4. You stride where heroes fear to tread. A male, writing poetry from a female point of view, is a daunting task. To pull it off, as the comments from the feminine gender proclaim, is amazing. I bow in awe, while stating this is an excellent poem for any gender.

  5. Wonderful picture of calm confidence in the face of cantankerous cattiness. I like it – I would be the woman in the purple dress. 😉

  6. Traci and I would be sitting together. And if I weren’t the woman in the purple dress, I would like her. I like how you establish a sense of place without ever saying specifically where they are. A wonderful, vivid vignette.
    margo

    • Margo, thank you. That’s funny, I just said the same thing in my comment to Traci, that I “like her”. I like strong, fierce, independent women; I must, I married one. Glad you liked it.

      Richard

  7. Richard, You capture her well, I love that her shallowness shines throughout the piece. Thank you for loving my wordles. I love them, too, and am glad you’re playing along. I’ve started to blog at WordPress, too. Here are a couple of links:
    http://undercaws.wordpress.com/
    http://gatheredstones.wordpress.com/
    I may move the Sunday Whirl there, as well. I can’t make Mr. Linky work at blogger, and my digital immigrant status doesn’t help. HTML schmaytch TML, I might just move it.
    ~Brenda

  8. Brenda, thank you. Wordles are total play. That’s what makes them so much fun; and that I sometimes get a good poem out of them too is icing on the cake.

    I’ll check out your WordPress blogs and add them to my blogroll so that I can keep up with your new endeavors.

    They use Mr. Linky at Poets United. Do you think someone there could help you get it going where Sunday Whirl is now? I taught myself HTML a long time ago before I knew about Blogger, WordPress, and Wikidot. If you think I can help, I will. I’m sure my HTML is rusty and that it’s changed a lot since I managed a school website years ago, but I’d be willing to give it a try.

    Richard

Leave a Reply

