Fire Dominates

we are turning toward the fire
some with dove tails think
it will protect us from the dark
others with hawk tails feel
the dark has fallen against them
they think the fire can be used
to push the twilight away
still others fear that the wind will rise
fanning the flames and the leaves will catch

we are all afraid
some of us cry tears
others cry out, striding forward in  anger
that has been shaped
and layered on the fear

and the Earth spins and orbits
around its solar bonfire
caught between planets named for old gods
one of love and one of war

/ / /

This poem was written in response to Wordle 6, using twelve words from “Domination of Black” by Wallace Stevens, from a wordling whirl of Sundays.

22 thoughts on “Fire Dominates

  1. I like the contrasts of ideas, and imagery, and the way you use the same words to present some of the contrasts. The ending is wonderful, like a little punch.

    • Margo, I don’t often repeat the worlde words like that, but they called out for it this time, and it helped make the contrasts that came out in the writing. Thanks.

      Richard

  2. Mike, of course, it all started with Prometheus, didn’t it? That gift of fire, or should I say “gift” of fire? Are you suggesting this poem has a mythic quality? Thanks, as always, for stopping by and commenting.

    Richard

  3. Loved these lines:

    and the Earth spins and orbits
    around its solar bonfire

    I hadn’t known myself to be enamored with celestial ponderings….but have found myself more and more drawn to them. I might have to “steal” your “solar bonfire” someday! 😉

    BTW…summer vacation suits you!! 🙂

    ~Paula

  4. Oh, I love how this starts with the most primal of human emotions then zooms out to a planetary perspective. And the last stanza is superb.

  5. Richard, this does have a mythos sense to it. They are the best stories when making comparisons, especially about how slow we humans are to change and learn new ways. And again, I didn’t even notice the wordle words due to how you drew me in and kept me there with your flow of thought and imagery. And I must echo someone else’s words, vacation suits you well,

    Elizabeth

    • Elizabeth, these words just seemed to call for that mythos sense. As always, thank you for your kind and thoughtful words.

      I am hoping that writing poems, and the other writing that I’d like to do this summer, will help me structure my time over the next few weeks.

      Richard

  6. Richard, Your decision to repeat the words was a good one. This is strong writing. If you haven’t checked out Wallace Stevens’ piece, you should. He repeats like crazy, and it is extremely effective. I’m so glad you write with us every week. Your pieces are always among my favorites.
    ~Brenda

    • Brenda, thank you so much. I did read Wallace Stevens’ poem after I finished my own; you’re right, he does repeat a lot.

      I enjoy writing with you every week; I look forward to your wordles. Thanks again.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

