You know

it’s not true what you said
gay teachers are not
converting your children

and Muslims are not our enemies

they’re not true, so
quit saying those things

yeah, yeah, it’s still a free country,
but it wouldn’t be
if we put you in charge

yeah, well, free speech
applies to me, too,
and I’m tired of exercising it
fighting your bigotry
and narrowmindedness

oh, yeah, that’s good
resort to name-calling
you know what
you can call me
faggot commie liberal
but it doesn’t change what I said

yeah, well, I’m done
with you too

(you’re probably racist too)

* * * * *

This poem was written in response to the “it’s not true that ___” prompt at Big Tent Poetry. I also incorporated the quit what you’re doing prompt at Poetic Asides.

12 thoughts on “You know

  1. Oh, I love it, Mr. Walker. I do admire your ability to tell it like it is. I am very happy to have met you. I hope you continue to write with us, here in blogland.

    Pamela

  2. Mr. Walker, I’m so glad to have made your acquaintance, and certainly hope you continue to grace us with your honest and direct view. It is an absolute requisite for good healthy thinking and living. Thank you for accompanying me on my journey, you’ve given me a hand up on several occasions. But, I’d really like to know your first name. I get so formal feeling when I see your moniker, and this North Wisconsin Hillbilly gets a bit tongue-tied by all of that. Drop by anytime and I will do the same. That’s not a threat, it’s a promise, lol.

    Elizabeth

  3. Pamela, thank you. I try to be a wysiwyg (what-you-see-is-what-you-get) kind of guy. I am happy to have met you as well. I certainly plan on continuing to write, post, read, and comment out here in blogland (which I prefer to blogosphere, by the way).

    Stan, thanks. I was hoping it would sound real.

    Tilly, it’s funny that you mention it. I’ve actually combined a couple of experiences. I was actually thinking of someone, a Muslim, who said something disparaging about a gay teacher, which didn’t sit well with me. And I dislike the post-9/11 Muslim bashing that goes in my country.

    Mary, thank you. You will definitely see me around. My appetite for poetry has only been whetted; my plan is to keep it going year-round.

    Elizabeth, the feeling is mutual. I’m impressed with the honesty and sincerity in your poetry. I will most definitely continue to drop by; that is a promise.

    And I will try to get in the habit of leaving my first name, as both you and Pamela have done in replies to this poem.

    Richard

  4. I empathize with the voice, and adore the parenthetical last line. It has an requisite neener-neerer quality that suits the poem perfectly.

    Well, done Mr. Walker, on a fine month of poems, so many gems.

    It’s been a pleasure to make your acquaintance, Richard. 🙂 May you have a rich year, & I’ll look forward to reading more from you.

    deb

  5. Deb, thank you so much. “Adore” and “exquisite” are such lovely words – thank you for that.

    Gloria, thank you. I plan on being around more post-April than I was last year.

Leave a Reply

