“the only one in the world”

the only one in the world
is the world itself
there is no other like mother Earth

I know I’m unique
that genetically speaking I am
the only one in the world

just like me, but I am small
and what sustains me
is the world itself

we neglect her at our peril
there is no escape if we kill her
there is no other like mother Earth

* * * * *

This poem was written in response to the “only one in the world” prompt at Poetic Asides. It also fits with the escape prompt at Big Tent Poetry.

As the month is coming to a close, I’m starting to think about which five poems I’m going to submit to Robert at Poetic Asides as my top five for the month, so I’ve been focusing on those prompts more over the past few days.

Shameless plug: If you want to read the other three poems I posted today, you’ll find them here: Message in a Bottle, falling poem, and a little trifle I called Second Thoughts.

7 thoughts on ““the only one in the world”

  1. Pamela, thanks as always. I, too, am sad the month is coming to an end, but I’m more energized than ever about writing poems and sharing them. It’s been a good time we’ve shared together.

    • Regarding the month coming to an end….it’s funny, kinda feels like the end of summer camp…where you made a bunch of new friends who scatter to far-flung places. How happy I am to have met so many wonderful people…and yet still be connected in the cyber world of poeming!

      • I think the summer camp metaphor is appropriate. I’m feeling down, because it’s ending. The daily interactions I’ve had have been wonderful, and I’m going to miss them. On the other hand, I want to stay connected, so I guess it’s going to be like becoming a pen pals with friends you made at summer camp – and that’s a good thing.

  2. Amy, thank you. Your comments always brighten my day. I don’t think of myself as very zen, but then that’s the point, isn’t it?

    Tilly, thanks. I agree that we’re not doing enough. I know I often feel like I could do more.

Leave a Reply

