Looking In

I found
a poem
that had

a mirror
in it
and that mirror

looked in
at a mirror
in me

that had
a poem
in it

* * * * *

This poem is in response to the mirror poem prompt at NaPoWriMo.

I wrote this one about a week and a half ago. I was in Barnes & Noble doing my usual evening writing. For National Poetry Month, I’ve been browsing their poetry section and looking at various books. That particular day, I had picked up Poetry in Motion: 100 Poems from the Subways and Buses, and I stumbled across a poem titled “Reflective” by A. R. Ammons. My poem is a mirror of his.

10 thoughts on “Looking In

  1. Really, really like this one Mr. Walker. Simple words, construction, lines, and almost simple meaning, yet holding a great deal of depth in all of its simplicity. Bravo!

    Elizabeth

  2. Thanks to all of you who commented. I’m glad you liked it. I have to give credit where it’s due, and that’s to the source poem, “Reflective” by A. R. Ammons. While I changed it enough that I don’t think anyone would accuse me of plagiarism, especially since I clearly cited it as my inspiration and the source for the mirror poem, it also doesn’t feel original (if that makes any sense).

  3. Richard…

    Your poem might not feel original to you, but it reflects well on the original.

    And…perhaps in A.R. Ammons you found a mirror, and that mirror looked in the mirror in you, and found a poet.

    ~ Paula

  4. Paula, thank you so much. That was beautifully said – and it made me feel better – in every sense.

    Mike, thanks. I’m still surprised and humbled by the reaction this poem gets.

Leave a Reply

