Public Service Announcement

Drivers, start your engines!

Show pedestrians and other drivers
your inattention and rage.
Driving with two hands is not permitted.
Your dominant hand must
at all times be occupied
with something other than driving.
Options include texting,
changing settings on your stereo,
and applying make up.
You are not limited to these options;
we urge you to be creative.
Do not bother signaling lane changes.
Tailgaiting, honking,
flashing your highbeams,
and flipping the bird
are expected and encouraged.
Excessive speed is required.

This is an open course.
You are amateur drivers.
Please drive irresponsibly.

Thank you.

* * * * *

This poem was written in response to the Big Tent Poetry prompt about what you would shout down the street.

10 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement

  1. I have a vivid memory from over twenty years ago, of driving down a Missouri Interstate, cars flashing by even though I was doing seventy. Looked over to see a woman driver in the fast lane with a magazine opened and stretched across the steering wheel, and say her flip the page before she disappeared ahead of me. I got off at the next exit and just sat for a while.

    Obviously enjoyed your poem, lol,

    Elizabeth

  2. Mr. Walker…
    I really liked your take on the prompt…shouting this down the street to all those within earshot…the amateur drivers, all. I enjoyed this!!
    ~Paula

  3. Hilarious but with that very serious message! Love it……and HATE that drivers text while driving….I mean, seriously???? Jeeze! Good one Mr. Walker

  4. Tilly, I’m a teacher; I get to tell people what to do all day long. Why not while I’m driving too?

    Elizabeth, scary. I don’t blame you for pulling over. As I’m always telling my students, you can’t make this stuff up.

    Paula, thanks. This was the first thing that came to mind, after a very silly idea of “shouting down” the street, as if the street were being naughty.

    Gloria, thanks. Glad you got the sense of humor, with the underlying annoyance over something potentially serious.

  5. M.A.S. thank you. It was fun thinking and writing in that voice. I’m glad you picked up on that, because that’s very much how I imagined it. I think it needs to be read aloud.

    Richard

Leave a Reply

