Three Poems for Poetic Asides

don’t think, write
get those words down on
paper right away

in your brain
they’re no good, just clutter
slowing you down

set them free
see what they have to
say to you

you don’t know
what you think until you
write them down

and I can’t
read your mind, so write
down those words

then we can
talk and get somewhere new
you and I

* * *

It ain’t my
business what other
people think
about me.
The mouth is for talking and
the brain for thinking.

* * *

like as
simile

is
metaphor

comparisons
satisfactory

is
sublime

* * * * *

The first is in response to the “Don’t (blank), (blank)” prompt and I also used it as my form poem. Each stanza is a Jack Collom lune of 3/5/3 words.

The second is in response to writing an “ain’t none of my business” poem. It also happens to be a shadorma.

The third is in response to the “Like (blank)” prompt.

Spent the morning checking to see what poems I had posted to my blog which I had not posted at Poetic Asides, then discovered the reverse was also true. So, here are three poems I’ve written this month and posted in the comments at Poetic Asides that I have not yet posted here.  A huge “Thank You” to Anders Bylund for his Poem a Day Search Tool.

Addendum: I’m going to be gone most of the weekend and not online, so I will be catching up reading poems and leaving comments late Sunday and Monday.

10 thoughts on “Three Poems for Poetic Asides

  1. I agree with you that you don’t know what you think until you write it down. Writing so often crystalizes one’s thoughts. Poetry is indeed a thinking tool. Three very fine poems, Mr. Walker.

  2. Nice of you to credit Anders, because his tools are so effective in searching during this hectic PAD time of year.

    I liked all three; however, the first interested me in terms of thoughts as actual clutter, much like your critique of my last poem, where the tangible and intangible meet. With this one, the brain becomes a space inhabited by random thoughts which must be set in order. Like that, since I’m all about brain process anyway…

    Also, the second reminded me of the old saying, “God gave us two ears and one mouth. That ratio was for a reason!”

    Thanks again, Richard. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/04/23/late-at-night-a-shadorma/

  3. Family Blogger, thanks for stopping by.

    Ron, thanks. I like your comment about my teacher/motivator voice shining through. I guess I can’t escape it, can I? It shows through even when that’s not my intention. But you’re right; it’s totally there.

    verseblender, thanks. I thought that first one would appeal to other writers.

    Mary, thanks. I’ve had that experience more than once this month. When I tackle a wordle or some other prompts, I don’t know where I’m going until it shows up on the page. I absolutely agree – poetry is a thinking tool. Well said!

    Amy, thanks. I find I have a lot of thoughts bouncing around in my head. Poetry helps me clear out the clutter. As a teacher and writer, I am all about the brain process as well – I think it helps with parenting too.

    earlybird, thanks for catching that – “finish with us” – I appreciate that.

  4. I’ve fallen behind on my comments. My bad, especially when you are exploring my method of ‘don’t think, write’ writing. Other than when I write from personal experience, I never have any idea where my writing comes from or where it is going. Once in a while, I reread an old poem and wonder if I really wrote it. The mind is a strange thing.

  5. Mike, I’ve learned to trust my imagination and intuition. I put things down on paper sometimes that I didn’t really know I had in me. It’s magical, even when it doesn’t produce a good poem.

Leave a Reply

