Doggy Love

i’m willing to eat your dis / once
because you are a kid
and don’t know any better / yet

watch as i pull / a long pink balloon
from my mouth / blow it up
twist it into a doggy for you

you will play with your doggy
for five minutes
until you turn away your attention
and your doggy falls
to the grass / pop

i’m willing to eat your sadness
over and over every day
if i have to
because i love you

you ask for another doggy
but i am out of balloons

i offer you a hug instead
it helps calm your tears
but it doesn’t make you happy
and we both know it

but the hug makes me happy

* * * * *

This poem was written in response to three prompts: one, a love poem at Poetic Asides, a poem beginning “I’m willing to eat…” from We Write Poems, and one in which you pull a small object out of your mouth from Big Tent Poetry.

The inspiration for this poem came when I was reading “Willing to Eat Worms” by Amy Barlow Liberatore at her blog, Sharp Little Pencil. Thanks for the inspiration, Amy.

Richard (aka Mr. Walker)

19 thoughts on “Doggy Love

  1. Interesting here to have responded, enjoined three prompts together, and within the poem there is a musical quality, a choral effect. I like that in particular very much. Thanks for contributing this poem to us.

    I think this actually might make an intriguing prompt to do for the community at some time.

  2. Love the “i’m willing to eat your sadness” line…..
    I pray that your children recognize what a great thing that is…a parent willing to “eat their sadness”…not just CREATE their sadness………
    ~Paula

  3. Wow! You amazing, amazing people. Thank you so much for your kind words.

    Neil, I don’t know what to say. I’m glad you liked it and that you thought it had a musical quality.

    Stan, thanks. I’m glad you liked my combination.

    Ron, thank you. “Adept” is such a lovely word.

    Kim, thank you. I was inspired by Amy’s poem about her love for her daughter.

    Pamela, as always, thank you. I didn’t consciously set out to do three prompts, but this poem seemed to call for it.

    Amy, thanks. That’s the first line I wrote in my head, but it ended up starting somewhere else. Thanks for getting “patience” out of it; that’s how I imagined the father in the poem (who could just as easily be a mother).

    Judy, thank you so much for your heartfelt and thoughtful comments. You’re absolutely write about being with them being the biggest treasure.

    Linda, thanks. I thought about leaving the word “love” out of the poem entirely, but it didn’t seem right to me. I think you have to say it and show it.

    Paula, me too. My children are six and nine, so they don’t get it yet. I hope that someday they’ll read poems like this one and understand.

  4. Kelly, thank you. I was tempted to write an anti-love poem instead, because like you my love poems usually end up sappy. I think the other prompts I used helped me focus this one into something that worked.

    Irene, thanks. That line was actually the first one that came into my head; it was the genesis of this poem.

    Mike, thanks. I agree, hugs have great power. Thanks, I agree, love does need to be included, always. Couldn’t say it better myself, so I just repeated what you said.

Leave a Reply

